top of page

Roxbury Meetups

Public·7 members

List Of Rare Ragas In Carnatic Music !FREE!

List Of Rare Ragas In Carnatic Music

Carnatic music is a classical music tradition of South India that has a rich and diverse repertoire of ragas. Ragas are musical frameworks that consist of a set of notes or swaras, arranged in ascending and descending scales, with specific rules and characteristics. Ragas are the basis of melody and expression in Carnatic music.

List Of Rare Ragas In Carnatic Music

Download Zip:

There are hundreds of ragas in Carnatic music, but some of them are more commonly used and popular than others. Some ragas are rare and seldom heard in concerts or compositions. These ragas may have less than seven notes in their scales, or have unusual or complex combinations of notes, or have limited scope for improvisation. However, these ragas also have their own beauty and charm, and can evoke different moods and emotions in the listeners.

In this article, we will explore some of the rare ragas in Carnatic music, their history, features, and examples of compositions and performances.

What are rare ragas in Carnatic music?

Rare ragas in Carnatic music are those that are not frequently used or taught by musicians. There is no definitive list or criteria for what constitutes a rare raga, but some possible factors are:

  • The raga is not part of the 72 melakarta or parent ragas, which are the main source of derivation for other ragas.

  • The raga has less than seven notes in its scale, or has more than seven notes with zig-zag or vakra patterns.

  • The raga has uncommon or unconventional intervals or combinations of notes, such as microtones or shrutis.

  • The raga has a narrow range or limited scope for elaboration or variation.

  • The raga has few or no compositions or recordings available.

Some examples of rare ragas in Carnatic music are:


Chandrajyoti is a janya or derived raga of the 9th melakarta raga Dhenuka. It has five notes in its ascending scale and six notes in its descending scale. The notes are:

Arohana: S R1 G3 M1 P S

Avarohana: S N3 D1 M1 G3 R1 S

The raga has a bright and cheerful mood, as its name suggests (chandra means moon and jyoti means light). It is also associated with Lord Shiva. One of the famous compositions in this raga is Chandrasekhara Eshwara by Muthuswami Dikshitar.


Nalinakanti is a janya raga of the 15th melakarta raga Mayamalavagowla. It has six notes in both its ascending and descending scales. The notes are:

Arohana: S G3 M1 P N3 S

Avarohana: S N3 D1 M1 G3 R1 S